Contact   |    Imprint    |    Home    deutsch
Info-Service


What good are fat cells?
Many people, who consider themselves to be overweight, complain about the roundness of their hips, stomach and buttocks. Fat cells are generally blamed for this, and many people ask whether these cells are of any use at all.

Fat cells are a storage system with an enormous capacity to expand.
Fat cells are only doing what they are supposed to do. It would be wrong to blame them for any unwanted padding, as fat cells not only store excess fat but also break fat down. We would not be able to survive without fat cells. These cells release fat when required. However, their natural "instinct" is to store as much fat as possible, saving it for times of need. And this is where we, as people, actually help them in their endeavours.

Small or large - every fat cell clings to life.
Fat cells are actually not that big. They only weigh 0.3 to 0.9 micrograms (one millionth of a gram; g). Even very slim people have large amounts of fat cells that fulfil an important function as a interim storage depot. (Macabre as this may seem, even people who died of starvation still have fat cells.) The fat cells of many people remain mostly empty. However, if we ingest more food than our bodies need, our fat cells turn into a final depot and can increase up to 200 times in size. That's when the fat's in the fire (or literally on our thighs, hips and buttocks). The fat cells multiply while continuing to increase in size: Obese people have far more fat cells than slim people. And once they are there, they cling to dear life. Although they release fat, the cells themselves will not disappear. Instead, they sit waiting to be replenished.

Fat-soluble vitamins are vital for life.
Fat cells are actually only doing what they are supposed to do, i.e. storing and releasing energy. Without fat cells, our metabolism wouldn't work. Almost all essential vitamins - except vitamin C and the vitamins of the B group - are fat-soluble. Vitamins are indispensable building materials for our bodies and must be supplied to the body via the food we eat. Fat-solulable vitamins are particularly rich in unsaturated and poly-unsaturated fatty acids. This is why a starvation diet does more harm than good, because it interferes with the normal metabolic processes within the body. It is better to use the metabolic processes of the body in such a way that the natural release of body fat, i.e. the burning of fat, is accelerated. We have compiled a number of interesting tips and hints on how to do just that.

Kontakt   |    Impressum    |    Home    englisch
Info-Service


Was soll ich bloss mit meinen Fettzellen anfangen?
Viele Menschen, die sich für zu dick halten, stöhnen über die Rundungen an Hüfte, Bauch und Po. Dann wird geschimpft, und zwar meistens auf die Fettzellen. Auf die könne man gut verzichten. Wozu sind die überhaupt gut?

Fettzellen sind ein extrem erweiterungsfähiges Lagerhaltungssystem.
Für eine ganze Menge. Und Schuld an den Fettpostern sind sie auch nicht. Sie tun nur, wozu sie da sind. Denn in den Fettzellen wird nicht nur überschüssiges Fett gelagert, dort wird auch Fett abgebaut. Ohne die Fettzellen könnten Menschen nicht leben. Je nach Bedarf geben sie Fett ab. Allerdings haben sie von Natur aus das Bedürfnis, so viel Fett anzusammeln und für Notzeiten aufzusparen, wie sie können. Dabei sind wir Menschen ihnen oft eine grosse Hilfe.

Ob dick oder dünn - jede Fettzelle klammert sich an ihr Dasein.
Eigentlich sind Fettzellen gar nicht so gross. Sie wiegen nur etwa 0,3 bis 0,9 Mikrogramm (Millionstel Gramm; µg). Sogar sehr schlanke Menschen haben eine Menge Fettzellen, die als Durchgangslager eine wichtige Funktion erfüllen. (Makaber, aber sogar verhungerte Menschen haben welche.) Bei vielen Menschen bleiben die Fettzellen meistens leer. Nehmen wir aber mehr Nahrung zu uns, als der Körper verbraucht, so werden Fettzellen zum Endlager und können auf das 200fache anwachsen. Da haben wir dann den Salat (oder vielmehr das Fett). Die Fettzellen vermehren sich und füllen sich weiter an. Dicke Menschen haben sehr viel mehr Fettzellen, als dünne Menschen. Und wenn sie erst mal da sind, dann klammern sie sich hartnäckig ans Leben. Sie geben zwar Fett ab, aber die Zellen selbst verschwinden nicht mehr. Sie warten auf Nachschub.

Fettlösliche Vitamine sind lebensnotwendig.
Eigentlich tun Fettzellen damit aber nur das, wozu sie da sind. Sie speichern Energie und geben sie wieder ab. Ohne sie würde unser gesamter Stoffwechsel nicht funktionieren. Nahezu alle lebensnotwenigen Vitamine, ausser Vitamin C und die Vitamine der B-Gruppe, sind fettlöslich. Vitamine sind als Baustoffe für unseren Körper unerlässlich und müssen mit der Nahrung zugeführt werden. Fettlösliche Vitamine sind besonders reich in ungesättigten und mehrfach ungesättigten Fettsäuren zu finden. Darum ist eine Nulldiät auch eher schädlich, weil sie die normalen Stoffwechselprozesse des Körpers unterbindet. Besser ist es, zum Abnehmen die Stoffwechselprozesse des Körpers so zu nutzen, dass die natürliche Freisetzung von Körperfett, die Fettverbrennung, gefördert wird. Dazu finden Sie hier ein paar interessante Hinweise.